Siliconcowboy's Blog

Technology, journalism, social media and social responsibility

How to Hide a Facebook Group

[NOTE: This story is now out of date. Facebook no longer provides the option to hide a group as described below.  As a rule, the groups that you are subscribed to do not show up on your profile page that others see; however, when you open your Facebook account to your home page, it will list the eight groups that you have most recently used. As it stands today, there is no way to remove this list from your home page.]

Facebook now has a clean and easy way to hide groups and change group settings. I’m not sure how long this feature has been in existence, but I just discovered it so I thought i would share it with my readers as well. It’s super easy! Here’s how it works.

When you are on your home page, look at your list of groups on the left-hand side, under your profile picture. Run your cursor over the name of the group you would like to hide. If you let your cursor rest there for a minute, the group name will become shaded and a grey “x” will appear to the left of the group name. If you hold the cursor over the “x” you will see the phrase “Hide [group name]”.

By clicking on this button, you will effectively hide the group from your page. Neither you nor anyone else looking at your page will see this group listed under your profile picture.   In addition, clicking on this button also brings up a pop-up window, like this:

This window allows you to select whether you want to hide the group for good, or allow it to reappear every once in a while (ostensibly, to remind you that it exists). The pop-up window also allows you to change other group settings, such as when and how to notify you of new posts; whether to notify you if anyone posts, or just a friend; and whether to allow chats to appear.

I’ve set my groups to notify me if a friend posts or comments, and I’ve turned off the setting that notifies me in email. I’ve allowed some groups to remain on my home page and hidden others.

This is a great feature, saving countless keystrokes and missteps that could happen by trying to change your group settings from your Facebook Security page, which is disastrously complex. It’s a quick and easy way to clean up what could otherwise be a cluttered home page – and an overflowing email in-box.

It’s also a handy way to hide a “closed” group without having to make it “secret”.  Secret groups are problematic, in that if a member accidentally “leaves” the group, it’s nearly impossible to return. I’ve written a separate blog on how to do that, here.

53 comments on “How to Hide a Facebook Group

  1. BVG
    July 7, 2011

    I am part of a group and recently I found that the posts I make are appearing on news feeds of people on my friends list. The group is kind of a controversial one and I dont want people to see what I post…

    How can I hide posts I make in a group from appearing on the News Feed of people on my friends list?

    • siliconcowboy
      July 7, 2011

      You might want to consult your group’s administrators for help. They are responsible for setting the group’s privacy level.

  2. penguinmom
    August 4, 2011

    now if they would just make it so you can hide your friend’s groups from showing up on your news feed. There has been a rash of ‘you know you grew up in …’ groups among my friends recently and all of those posts are clogging up my news feed. If I’m not from there, I really don’t care to see the posts. (Possibly even if I am from there, I’d like the option of not seeing the post without having to hide each post individually.)

    • siliconcowboy
      August 12, 2011

      Be careful, if you block those posts you will block your friend. The trend is a shortlived one, most of these posts disappear after one or two attempts at attracting your attention. It can be annoying though.

  3. Janet Foster La-Cava
    August 5, 2011

    How do you block posts on your newsfeed, from others, if you are not a member of a group, but they are?

    • siliconcowboy
      August 12, 2011

      Somewhere along the line, someone requested that you join that group and you either joined and forgot or you didn’t decline the invitation. To stop their feed from showing up on your Facebook page, first go to your page and look at your list of groups. If you don’t find it there, expand the list by clicking on “show more.” When you find the group name, click the plus sign for options and either “delete” or “leave” the group.

  4. Maria @ Mom et al
    August 9, 2011

    Unfortunately this only works if you are a member of the group. There have been a ton of “You’re probably from…” (even worse “Your probably from”) open groups popping up on FB the last few days with people reminsicing about their home towns. From what I can tell there is no way to block seeing each of these groups in my news feed as friends submit posts. I can hide the individual post or hide the friend but not the group. So frustrating!!!

  5. Doremon
    August 12, 2011

    Helo, thanks for your useful information here – but I wonder if you know how to hide “secret group” comments being view from other members of group? I know we can remove the comments if we do not want them but can we hide them so only certain people can view them?

    Your reply and answer is very much appreciate.

    Thank you.

    • Doremon
      August 12, 2011

      I mean to say “How to hide the comments made by the members of the groups so it will not be visible to everyone in the members of the group”?

      Thank you.

      • siliconcowboy
        August 12, 2011

        The purpose for having a secret group is to hide conversations from your general list of Facebook followers. Your best bet for hiding comments from certain members is to conduct a private chat with some group members. Does that help?

  6. Doremon
    August 13, 2011

    Thanks for the feed back – so you are saying that there is no way I could hide the comments made by members in the group? Correct?

    Thank you.

    • siliconcowboy
      August 16, 2011

      Not really. Unless you know something I don’t, the only way I know to have a discussion that involves only some members of the group is to chat with them.

  7. nescb
    August 21, 2011

    Hi there!

    Facebook recently removed this option to hide Groups in the News Feed side bar. I’ve been looking for it for about 2days but there was none. Do you have any idea how to hide it? It’s annoying on my sidebar.

    Regards,

    nescb

    • siliconcowboy
      August 22, 2011

      Checking that. I’m pretty sure it was relocated to the upper right.

      • siliconcowboy
        August 23, 2011

        You’re right, they’ve removed the ability to hide groups from your page. I am looking in to a workaround for this. Thanks for the tip!

  8. Anthony Davis
    August 22, 2011

    It appears that the option to hide the group from the home page has been removed?

    • siliconcowboy
      August 22, 2011

      It’s been moved upward and to the right, lol. Look for it under “settings.”

  9. Joe
    August 23, 2011

    i dont see how i can remove it from the home page as well?!?!

    • siliconcowboy
      August 23, 2011

      I’ll have to update this blog. In its latest modification to the groups settings, Facebook has apparently removed the ability to hide your group from your home page.

  10. rex
    August 24, 2011

    hi,i’ve read through the above blog and the subsequent comments.please let me know if the option to hide groups is still available as i really dont want my list of friends to see the groups that I am a part of..thanks

    • siliconcowboy
      August 25, 2011

      I’m with you Rex. At this point, it looks like it has been completely removed, but I’m still researching options.

  11. sweetaquarius
    November 2, 2011

    OMgosh any work around to this problem yet? My husband is constantly on me about posts i make on a group page. Clearly, its his issues but I need to get him off my back. Please help! I don’t want those posts to appear on his tickler feed, or my clients for that matter.

    • siliconcowboy
      November 5, 2011

      If you have posts that are appearing on a feed of his, that means he is subscribed to the group. The only way to prevent him from seeing your posts is to either convince him to unsubscribe or have the admin block him from the group.

    • Have him hover his cursor over your name, on his wall. He can then go to subscribe, and change settings there. Have him try that. My husband does not get mine and I belong to 10 groups.

  12. Kyrre
    November 6, 2011

    There is no [x] turning up here, leaving the cursor hovering over the groups name in my left sidebar. More of my groups keep showing up there as well, even if I haven’t used them. Want to be able to hide both the apps and groups I don’t need to see every day. Am I missing something? Thought your “recipe” was quite straightforward, but I might have missed something.

    • siliconcowboy
      November 6, 2011

      You’re absolutely right, I need to delete or abridge this post. Facebook removed the “hide” capability several weeks ago in one of its refreshes. I’ve been meaning to say something about this but have not gotten around to it. Thanks for the reminder.

      • Kyrre
        November 6, 2011

        I ended up looking into this add-on: http://betterfacebook.net/
        But not 100% sure I’m satisfied with it as a solution. Then again, I might just have to play around with setting up all the 10,000 choices in Options.

  13. mitzifern
    October 17, 2012

    I need to block a group just like I would block a person. The adminstrator has been personally blocked, but she is still able to view my page through her group page…what can I do?

    • Dan Holden
      October 31, 2012

      The first thing you want to try is to leave the group. This should effectively remove you from the group list as well, although this could take a while. It is important that you do not try to re-engage with the group or anyone in it while your request to leave the group is being processed. Any connection you make will cause the social graph to reconnect you, even in the background, to the group.

  14. 121
    January 3, 2013

    It appears that the new FB layout does not show your groups to friends anymore.

    Checking if anyone else noticed this as well…?

    • Dan Holden
      January 6, 2013

      Correct it does not show groups and it does not show lists.

  15. Jackie Canessa
    January 5, 2013

    has a way been fround to hide groups from home page yet?

    • Dan Holden
      January 6, 2013

      What you see on your home page and what your friends see are two very different things. Friends do not see any of your groups on your profile page. You, however, can see all of your groups by default. If you want to leave a group, just hover over the group name until the check mark comes up, and then click on that to see your visibility options for that group. You can also hide those groups from your own view without leaving them, but be advised that by doing so, the only way you can find them in the future is to do a facebook search for them or engage with them on your timeline. To shut off a group completely or reduce the visibility, go to Settings/Notifications/Groups and then go down the list to manually edit settings for the group you want to edit.

  16. mantion
    January 6, 2013

    Just switch to google plus.

  17. thamim
    January 18, 2013

    hi sir, my facebook group dont see this time, iam admin were going my one of group?

    • Dan Holden
      January 19, 2013

      If you are an admin of a private group and you accidentally left the group, you may have trouble finding it again. The best thing to do is contact another admin and ask them to re-invite you into the group.

  18. Mike
    January 21, 2013

    Hi Dan.
    Is there a way of joining a private group privately so that friends don’t get notified. Cheers

    • Dan Holden
      January 22, 2013

      Not without going in incognito. Facebook doesn’t notify group members that someone has joined, but your profile photo will appear whenever you post or comment in the group. So the only way to avoid being noticed is to (A) avoid commenting or (B) sign in under a different alias. It should also be noted, obviously, that administrators will know you joined the group since they have to approve you when you get there.

  19. Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but
    I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic
    but I had to ask!

    • Dan Holden
      February 6, 2013

      You can always discover WordPress themes by scrolling to the bottom of the blog. My WordPress theme is Enterprise. I have changed up the color and added my own photo banner. Everything else is free WordPress Plugins, very basic. Thanks.

  20. Kelvin
    April 23, 2013

    Hi, is that any way to hide the group from friends/public to viewed it (which joined the private group_?

  21. applepie
    April 24, 2013

    Hi there, I’ve just discovered that fb dispays all of my groups on my profile viewable to everyone. How can I get rid of that?? (I’m trying to learn Spanish and set my fb’s language to Spanish, don’t understand a word which makes things even more difficult)

  22. Harriett
    May 27, 2013

    hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right
    here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site, as I
    experienced to reload the website a lot of
    times previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon.

  23. Tony
    June 10, 2013

    How can I get the GROUPS I have joined to show POSTS on my NEWS FEED?

    I have 42 groups and none showup on news feed.
    For some reason only posts from friends that post on the group page are coming up.
    I am still getting notifications but they do not show up on my NEWS FEED unless it was a friends post.

    Things I have tried
    1. All GROUPS are already set on ALL POSTS with notification.
    2. I have clicked onto the pencil beside the NEW FEED and it is empty.
    3. Tried to LEAVE GROUPS and REJOIN but still nothing more than I started with.

    • Dan Holden
      June 26, 2013

      Facebook has intentionally pushed groups into their own category on the left side of your feed. This was done to help you organize your interactions and reduce the group chatter on your news feed. It’s also part of the architectural framework of the software: your social graph within Facebook does not include any group interactions, so advertisers cannot target ads to you on the basis of what groups you are in. Trying to reverse this design would mean changing the entire architecture of the software, which Facebook is not going to do.

  24. JT
    August 18, 2013

    Just last night I met someone who commented on a group I belong to on FB. I thought I had all my privacy settings tight. I read through all the comments on this post and it seems to allude to FB now not showing groups on someone’s page, but clearly this is not the case as I just found out. This person cannot see anything on my wall but can see the groups I belong to. Any updates on how to hide groups from people who are not my friends on FB? Thanks!

    • Dan Holden
      December 17, 2013

      Facebook has created a sticky situation by allowing people to subscribe to you even if you do not approve a friendship. Therefore if you belong to a public group there is almost no way to avoid them seeing your activity in that group. However private groups are private, so the person should not have access to these without an administrator’s approval.

  25. Cwhitson
    October 19, 2013

    I have a joined a group, and I am afraid if my family sees it the “news” will be leaked before I am ready. Is there a way I can change something in settings so on my friends page it doesn’t show ” So and So joined this particular group”?
    Thanks,

    • Dan Holden
      November 4, 2013

      If the group is private your family will not see it. Facebook only makes those pronouncements to promote public groups.

  26. Lou Lange
    April 5, 2014

    Been asking around on various web sites. I am a group admin on Facebook. On some posts, I can click the down arrow at the start of the post, and the “Hide Post” option appears. But, for some posts, that option is not available. Any idea why that is?

    • Dan Holden
      April 6, 2014

      Two possibilities. One, the post was written by another admin. Two, the post was written long enough in the past that hiding it is no longer an option.

      • docqualizer
        April 7, 2014

        1. There are only two admins – myself and another person. The other person did not write any of the posts lacking the “Hide Post” option.
        2. The posts that do not have the “Hide Post” option were written with the same day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,620 other followers

